RE-ENTER OUR NEW WEBSITE AT www.jetskifishing.co.nz
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Been watching for a while

4 posters

Go down

Been watching for a while Empty Been watching for a while

Post  Cigar Sun Aug 02 2009, 08:59

Hi all,
I've been checking out the forum for a while, but finally registered.
I've been fishing from boats for a few years, but about 2.5 years ago the boats were having trouble getting out the local rivermouth, so a couple of guys went out on their skis to bring in the craypots for the boating crews. They found it so easy, they took them back out the next day! This made me think that maybe skis weren't just a toy...hmmm.
I'm based in Hamilton, and the family bach (& boat) is two hrs drive away. Quite a few of the guys where I work head out from Kaiaua on the Firth of Thames and do very well, so I started thinking about getting a fishing vessel to keep in Hamilton. I did a bit of research on the net, and in March last year I went for a 10min testdrive on a ski, and bought it a couple of days later!
I got the dealer to install a fishfinder before I picked it up, both myself and the dealer had some ideas on mounting it - ended up surprising similar to Andrews mounts (but way more expensive), which I knew nothing about at the time! The rest of the setup is pretty basic, but works OK. I think I need an Ultimate setup!!! I'll post photos sometime soon.

I have met a couple of the forum members, Andrew at the Mystery Creek boat show last year, and Ken(124) at Kaiaua in March (I wondered what was going on when this guy says "I've been waiting for you for 5 hrs" - first thing I did was check I hadn't blocked him in with my car!!)

Cigar

Male
Number of posts : 25
Registration date : 2009-07-04

Back to top Go down

Been watching for a while Empty Re: Been watching for a while

Post  2-EXTREME Sun Aug 02 2009, 09:12