RE-ENTER OUR NEW WEBSITE AT www.jetskifishing.co.nz
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

FISHFINDER/GPS ASSISTANCE

2 posters

Go down

FISHFINDER/GPS ASSISTANCE Empty FISHFINDER/GPS ASSISTANCE

Post  rastasman Fri Dec 18 2009, 12:39

Hi

Jetski fishing newbie here. Just bought a 2005 SeaDoo Wake and am unsure of suitable fishfinder/GPS setup. I would like some independant recommendations on suitable fishfinder/GPS model for in-hull transducer installation. Any tips/trips to this sort of installation would also be helpful. All advice/information will be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Nick

rastasman

Male
Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2009-12-18

Back to top Go down

FISHFINDER/GPS ASSISTANCE Empty FF/GPS Assistance & Wiring a Secondary "Safety" Battery

Post  Innsie Sun Dec 20 2009, 09:34

Hi rastasman and well done on making the move to jetskifishing. You'll soon be as "hooked" as the rest of us!

I have a seadoo RXTX and have a Lowrance 522c installed. Transducer is mounted thru the hull, sited towards the rear. Don't worry - the instructions book is pretty good at advising best place and how to mount.

The main display unit is mounted through the front storage/glove compartment lid which should be similar to yours. This means you can simply replace the lid and take the GPS/FF with you should you ever sell the ski. Use rubber grommets to keep it all tidy. Mine is cut out and mounted up about 10mm on a bead of black silicon that blends in well. This keeps storage room available in the compartment and looks great. Run cabling through front side wall so it's all cosmetically fine.